aboutgrants & awardsnewspublicationspartners & colleaguescontactfrançais

AMS Board of Directors

Current AMS Board of Directors.

Carol Herbert

Carol Herbert

Carol Herbert is currently Dean, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at The University of Western Ontario and Professor in the Departments of Family Medicine and Pathology. She was formerly Head of the UBC Department of Family Practice, founding Head of the Division of Behavioural Medicine, and a founder of the UBC Institute of Health Promotion Research. She was a pioneer in developing services for sexually abused children and co-founded the Sexual Assault Service for Vancouver. She has conducted participatory action research with aboriginal communities, focused on diabetes and on environmental effects on human health. Other research interests include inter-professional education and patient and physician decision-making. She is a recognized leader in women's health and mentorship of academic women. She is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and Foreign Associate Member of the Institute of Medicine.

Dorothy Pringle

Dorothy Pringle OC, RN, PhD, FCAHS

BOARD CHAIR / PRESIDENT – Dorothy Pringle is professor emeritus at the University of Toronto where she was dean of nursing from 1988-1999. Her degrees are from McMaster University (BScN), the University of Colorado (MS, Nursing) and the University of Illinois (PhD, Nursing). She has five honorary degrees, is a recipient of the Jeanne Mance Award from the Canadian Nurses Association for lifetime contributions to nursing and was invested as an officer of the Order of Canada in 2008. She is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences where she is a member of the Board and treasurer. She has served on many research peer review committees and was the inaugural chair of the Institute Advisory Board of the CIHR Institute of Aging and a member of the Advisory Board from 2001-2009. She is Executive Lead of Health Outcomes for Better Information and Care (HOBIC) which is funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care and has been Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Nursing Leadership since 2004.
Her research has focused on the quality of daily life of cognitively impaired older people particularly those who live in long term care facilities and of their family caregivers and on nursing human resource planning.

Sharon Sholzberg-Gray

Sharon Sholzberg-Gray

Sharon Sholzberg-Gray is the Past President and CEO of the Canadian Healthcare Association. Ms. Sholzberg-Gray is a lawyer by profession and an association manager by occupation. She has served as CEO of a number of national health and social sector associations and was Co-chair for seven years of the Health Action Lobby. A member of the Quebec Bar, she has science and law degrees from McGill University and a B.A. from Concordia University and received a graduate diploma in public law from the University of Ottawa. Ms. Sholzberg-Gray has been active in a wide range of community organizations and has served as a member of various national voluntary boards. She speaks and writes extensively about legal, health and social issues.

Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith CFA, ICD.D

Andrew is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and Certified Director (ICD.D) with over 45 years of experience in the financial services industry. He is active on numerous Boards including LawPro (Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company), Pro-Demnity Insurance Company, the Canadian General Electric Pension Trust, and the University of Ottawa Pension Fund Investment Committee. As well, he chairs the Boards of the Toronto Civic Employees’ Pension Fund and the Toronto Fire Department Pension Fund. Andrew was a senior executive with National Trust and in 1985 became a partner/co-owner at James P. Marshall, Inc., an investment consulting firm. In 2004 he established his own consulting practice (Natnook Inc.) to assist organizations in achieving their financial and investment goals.

Jeffrey Turnbull

Jeffrey Turnbull MD, FRCPC

In addition to a BSc (University of Toronto) and a Masters Degree in Education (University of Western Ontario), Dr. Turnbull received his Doctorate in Medicine at Queen’s University and later achieved specialty certification in Internal Medicine through the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1982.

Dr Turnbull has been the Vice Dean of Medical Education at the University of Ottawa from November 1996 to July 2001, the President of the Medical Council of Canada from 1998 to 2001 and the President of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario from November 2006 to November 2007.

Dr. Turnbull has pursued an interest in poverty and its effect on health nationally and internationally. He is one of the founders and is currently the Medical Director of the Inner City Health Project for the homeless in Ottawa. As well, he has been involved in education and health services initiatives to enhance community and institutional capacity and sustainable development in Bangladesh, Africa and the Balkans. He is the recipient of several national and international grants and awards, including the Order of Canada.

In addition to being a specialist in Internal Medicine, Dr. Turnbull has recently stepped down as Department Chair of Medicine at The Ottawa Hospital and University of Ottawa to take on the position of Chief of Staff. In August 2010, he will be confirmed as President of the CMA. He remains committed as a medical educator with special interests in "Poverty and Health Inequity" and associated health policy.